A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses Chaitra Navratri
Home city guide administration in rourkela

Administration in Rourkela

Administration in RourkelaThe city of Rourkela in Sundergarh district is divided into two parts, the old Rourkela and the township area. The old Rourkela is not very developed and is inhabited mostly by poor and middle-class people. The township area is well-planned and developed, and is further divided in 22 sectors. The last two sectors are administered by the Rourkela Steel Plant administration. Rest of the Rourkela is administered by Rourkela Municipal Corporation.

Some fraction of the southern part of the city comes under the administration of Jalda Panchayat.

Rourkela Municipal Corporation

The city of Rourkela in Odisha was declared as the notified Council on 1955 and the entire town was subdivided into two separate townships namely:
  • Rourkela Steel Township
  • Rourkela Civil Township
In 1995, the Rourkela Steel Township was declared as industrial township which came under the administration of Rourkela Municipality.

The prime function of the Rourkela Municipal Corporation is to ensure the right administration in the city that includes cleanliness and maintenance of the town, adequate lighting up of streets, widening of the roads, maintaining the levels of greenery in the town by time to time plantation of trees and beautification of the town.

MLA from Rourkela

At present, there are seven constituencies in Sundergarh district namely, Talsara, Sundargarh, Biramitrapur, Raghunathpalli, Rourkela, Rajgangpur and Bonai. Except Rourkela all come under the scheduled tribe category.

MLA from Rourkela – from 2009
Name: Sarada Prasad Nayak
Political Party: Biju Janata Dal
Contact: 94370-45711

Rourkela Development Authority

The Rourkela Development Authority was constituted in 1995.

The Rourkela Development Authority Management Board:

Chairman RDA - Minister of State Urban Development, Orissa
Vice-Chairman RDA - Collector, Sundargarh
Engineer Member (Part time) RDA - Executrive Engineer, P.H. Division, Rourkela
Planning Member RDA - Assistant Town Planner

Judiciary in Rourkela

The complete judiciary system of Rourkela is located in the sub-divisional headquarter at Panposh. The Sub-divisional Judicial Magistrate court is located at Rourkela. One Additional District Judicial Magistrate is also appointed here, as Rourkela is one of the major towns of Sundergarh District.

Apart from this, Rourkela also has one family court. In 2007, all the courts were shifted to one big building near the ring-road main junction in Rourkela city.

Contact information of important officials of Courts:

Additional District Judge
Phone: 0661 – 2501199

Additional Chief Judicial Majistrate
Phone: 0661 – 2500041

Civil Judge -Senior Division
Phone: 0661 – 2506828

Civil Judge - Junior Division
Phone: 0661 – 2505522

Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate   
Phone: 0661 – 2512122

Fast Track Court
Phone: 0661 – 2513909

Family Court
Phone: 0661 – 2501602

There are more than 900 members in the Bar Association of Rourkela. These members and lawyers have been practicing here since 1952.

The city of Rourkela is divided in total 30 wards, for a complete list of all the Rourkela City Councillors, click here.

You may also like to visit

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries